PrintThe Joe Curley Rising Leader Award is intended to identify and honor up-and-coming individual FPRA members that demonstrate emerging leadership traits along with dedicated active involvement in FPRA Chapter activities, programs, functions and events.

The goal of the award is to help recognize personal dedication and engagement of members with two to five years of membership, and to help build a healthy leadership stream at the local chapter level.

The chosen honoree for the Joe Curley Rising Leader Award is selected from the Rising Leader Class of that year. Membership into the Rising Leader Class is determined by chapter nomination, one candidate per chapter. The honoree receives a $500 cash reward and a $1,000 FPRA state credit that the winner can use at his or her discretion for professional development seminars, workshops or Annual Conference. All finalists for the award also receive a $150 state professional development credit.

Three scholarships will also be made available to members of the current year’s Joe Curley Rising Leader Class. First, one class member will receive a scholarship to participate in the current year’s LeadershipFRPA class. This will include a $500 travel stipend. Scholarships will also be made available to current-year Rising Leader Class members to achieve their APR (1 scholarship) or their CPRC (1 scholarship.)

Additional information is available here.

Summary of Nomination Criteria:

  • Nominee has been a FPRA member, in good standing, for two to five years.
  • Nominee is an up-and-coming member demonstrating leadership traits.
  • Nominee shows dedicated active involvement in their Chapter’s activities, programs, functions and events.

To apply to receive your chapter’s nomination, click here.

Joe Curley Rising Leader Award recipients by year:

2010: Michael English
2011: Tami Karaba
2012: Jenny Baker
2013: Tessa Friederichs
2014: Ginny Lawrimore
2015: Rebecca Crisafulli
2016: Rhonda Leiberick, APR

Congratulations to the Joe Curley Rising Leader Class of 2016:

Liz Anderson: Jacksonville Chapter
Corrie Benfield: Tampa Bay Area Chapter
Lauren DeIorio: Ocala Chapter
Angelica DeLuccia Morrissey: Space Coast Chapter
Erin Ingram: NW Florida Coast Chapter
Erin Knothe: Dick Pope/Polk County Chapter
Cindi Lane, APR: Volusia/Flaglar Chapter
Rhonda Leiberick, APR: Central West Coast Chapter
Zoe Linafelt: Capital Chapter
Joey Mazzaferro: Gainesville Chapter
Vianka McConville: Orlando Area Chapter
Nicole Stacey: Pensacola Chapter

Class of 2012
Class of 2013
Class of 2014
Class of 2015

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search