2023 Scholarship applicants will be notified of the scholarship grant results the week of April 24, 2023.

Florida Public Relations Education Foundation’s
Dr. Bob Davis, APR, CPRC, Scholarship & Dr. Jay Rayburn, APR, CPRC, Scholarship


FPRA Founder John W. Dillin, APR, CPRC and 1988 FPRA State President Dr. Bob Davis, APR, CPRC

In an effort to support the professional development of students studying to enter the public relations profession, the Florida Public Relations Education Foundation (FPREF) awards student scholarships each spring.

FPRA awards two student scholarships annually — the Dr. Bob Davis, APR, CPRC, Scholarship and the newly created Dr. Jay Rayburn, APR, CPRC, Scholarship, endowed by Joe Curley, APR, CPRC.

These scholarships will be awarded to deserving students who will receive $1,500 to put toward education-related expenses. The application is available for download. It is due February 28, 2023.

Please type or fill out the application in ink (print legibly). The application must be accompanied by your transcript (unofficial is acceptable), resume and an essay answering one of the following four questions.

    • What do you think is the most important issue or trend affecting PR today and why?
    • Think about social media’s role in shaping opinions and behavior. Please provide a real-world example of an issue and explain social media’s impact on changing the audience’s way of thinking and ultimate behavior, or changes in corporate or political circumstances and policy.

1994 FPRA State President Dr. Jay Rayburn, APR, CPRC

  • Over the last ten years, how has the PR profession changed and where do you see the profession going in the next ten years and why?
  • What do you think was the most valuable aspect of your Public Relations education and how has this part of your education prepared you to enter today’s job market?
    The essay must be an original, typed, double-spaced and no longer than two pages document. For those students interested in submitting an application for a scholarship, it is recommended that the following writing tips be reviewed.

Selection Process
Winners of the FPREF Scholarships are selected based on a recommendation from the Past Presidents’ Council of the Association. Scholarship winners will be notified in April.

Scholarship winners also receive a certificate in recognition of their achievement and will be honored during the Presidents’ Luncheon at the FPRA Annual Conference in August. In addition, the winning essay may be published in FPRA’s statewide electronic newsletter.

Check out other scholarships available through our FPRA Chapters:
Capital Chapter
Gainesville Chapter
Orlando Area Chapter
Pensacola Chapter
Southwest Florida Chapter
Tampa Bay Chapter

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search