In 2009 Annual Conference, 2009 Conference - Monday

Presidents' Luncheon (8)Presidents' Luncheon (4)

The awards portion of the annual Presidents’ Luncheon has just been completed in the Great Hall South of the Boca Raton Resort and Club.

FPRA State President Lanette Hart, APR, CPRC, took the stage and began by recognizing the outgoing president of each of FPRA’s 15 professional chapters:

Terrie Glover Ard, APR, CPRC – Capital Chapter
Debby Steele – Central West Coast Chapter
Kris Keprios – Dick Pope/Polk County Chapter
Courtney Holmes – Gainesville Chapter
Jackie Green – Jacksonville Chapter
Amy Kingery – Nature Coast Chapter
Kara Stallings – Northwest Florida Coast Chapter
Tina Banner, APR – Ocala Chapter
Joe Chabus, APR -Orlando Area Chapter
Joy Tsubooka – Pensacola Chapter
Ginny Cooper – Southwest Florida Chapter
Amelia Woodbridge – Space Coast Chapter
Rebeca Searcey, APR – Tampa Bay Chapter
Linette Trabulsy – Treasure Coast Chapter
Melissa Sheets, APR – Volusia/Flagler Chapter

Lanette also recognized the members of the outgoing 2008-09 Executive Committee:

Sheridan Becht, APR – President-Elect
Suzanne Sparling, APR – Immediate Past President
Jeff Nall, APR, CPRC – VP of Accreditation/Certification
Karen Smittle, APR, CPRC – VP of Annual Conference
Becky Murphy – VP of Chapter Services
Melanie Mowry-Etters, APR, CPRC – VP of Communications & Public Relations
Jennifer Moss, APR, CPRC – VP of Finance
Rachel Smith, APR, CPRC – VP of Golden Image
Trista Wallace, APR – VP of Member Services
Chris Gent – VP of Planning & Research
Daniel McLean, APR – VP of Professional Development
Paul Ramey, APR – VP of Technology
Carole Savage, APR, CPRC – Counselors’ Network Chairman
Jay Wilson, APR – FPRE Foundation Chair

Jeff Nall, APR, CPRC, FPRA Vice President of Accreditation/Certification, next recognized those individuals who received their APR (Accredited in Public Relations) and CPRC (Certified Public Relations Counselor) certification this year. This is the largest group of newly credentialed members in the Association’s history. Congratulations to:

Jackie Benton, APR
Allison Fogt, APR
Veronique Kaiser, APR
Lisa Nason, APR
Ryan Ray, APR
Kathy Richardson, APR
Kelly Robertson, APR
Nanette Schimpf, APR
Jay Schleuning, APR
Margaret Shannon, APR
Melissa Sheets, APR
Karen Szulczewski, APR
Kathleen Taylor, APR
Sara Amanda Taylor-Salgueiro, APR
Ann Marie Varga, APR
Jennifer Wakefield, APR
Terry Welch, APR
Amanda Wettstein, APR

David Byron, APR, CPRC
Joe Curley, APR, CPRC
Phyllis Ershowsky, APR, CPRC
Julie Frey, APR, CPRC
Joe Hice, APR, CPRC
Pat Kuehn, APR, CPRC
Jan Luongo, APR, CPRC
Jennifer Moss, APR, CPRC
Pamela Nulman, APR, CPRC
Vickie Pleus, APR, CPRC
Tricia Ridgway-Kapustka, APR, CPRC
Carolyn Rogers, APR, CPRC
Karen Ryan, APR, CPRC
Karen Smittle, APR, CPRC
Shelley Szafraniec, APR, CPRC

Next, Jay Wilson, APR, FPRE Foundation Chair announced the winner of the Dr. Bob Davis, APR, CPRC, Foundation Scholarship Award. The scholarship is named in honor of long-time FPRA member Dr. Bob Davis, APR, CPRC. Bob is a retired professor from the University of Central Florida in Orlando.

The recipient of the award was Ashleigh Grant, a student at  Florida State University.

Next, Lanette presented the much-anticipated President’s Awards of Excellence for 2009. The following Chapters were recognized:

Chapter Administration – Orlando Area Chapter & Southwest Florida Chapter
Technology* – Southwest Florida Chapter
Communications – Treasure Coast Chapter
Financial Management – Dick Pope/Polk County Chapter & Pensacola Chapter
Fundraising – Capital Chapter
Community Service – Space Coast Chapter
Membership – Ocala Chapter
Member Services* – Volusia/Flagler Chapter
Professional Development – Central West Coast Chapter & Gainesville Chapter
Accreditation & Certification – Southwest Florida Chapter
Promoting the Profession – Orlando Area Chapter
Marketing FPRA – Nature Coast Chapter & Northwest Florida Coast Chapter
Professional Recognition – Jacksonville Chapter
Image Awards – Capital Chapter
Leadership Development – Gainesville Chapter
Senior Member Development – Capital Chapter
Student Development – Volusia/Flagler Chapter
Spirit of FPRA – Central West Coast Chapter

*Revised or new awards added this year to tie into Lanette’s focus on new technology, new ideas and increasing the value of FPRA for our members.

Paul Ramey, APR, FPRA Vice President of Technology, presented the award for Best Chapter Web Site. Paul announced that a panel of three judges unanimously selected the Central West Coast Chapter, President Debby Steele, and Webmaster Susie Bowie. Click here to see the site.

Melanie Mowry-Etters, APR, CPRC, FPRA Vice President of Communications & Public Relations presented the Best Chapter Newsletter Award. This year’s award went to the Treasure Coast Chapter, President Linette Trabulsy and Editor Sarah Starr.

Next, the Dillin Dessert, followed by the President’s top awards.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search